Where the Northwest
shapes energy efficiency


Leadership in Energy Efficiency Awards: Winners announced

Created 10/19/2015 by Veronica Marzilli
Updated 11/5/2015 by Veronica Marzilli
405 views • 1 comment
1 person likes this
The Results are in!

In an ongoing effort to enhance collaboration and innovation within our region, it is important to recognize individuals and teams for their exemplary dedication and performance in Energy Efficiency.

Submissions for the Leadership in Energy Efficiency awards were received through Conduit during August - September 2015. Once the submissions were in, a panel of energy efficiency leaders from throughout the Northwest reviewed all submissions and selected the winners based on a specific set of criteria

Without further ado, let's announce our 2015 Leadership in Energy Efficiency Award recipients!

The Leadership in Energy Efficiency Award for Innovation
Recognizes outstanding achievement in utilizing or promoting innovative solutions that help the region achieve more energy efficiency. 

Award Recipients: Rich Arneson and Bruce Carter, Tacoma Power
"When Habitat for Humanity came to Tacoma Power seeking advice on how to most efficiently heat some new homes they were building, Rich Arneson and Bruce Carter didn’t just recommend that Habitat install ductless heat pumps (DHPs) but they went the extra mile and seized a unique opportunity to partner with the non-profit organization to actually measure the savings from DHPs in new construction homes. ...The proposal [Rich and Bruce] submitted set an example in Washington State for evidence-based policy and was described by one council member as the “best proposal documentation” they had ever received. The work of Bruce and Rich exemplifies both the spirit of real innovation as well a collaborative approach to executing the evaluation and market transformation project."

The Leadership in Energy Efficiency Award for Collaboration
Recognizes outstanding achievement in collaborating with multiple individuals and/or organizations to help the region achieve more energy efficiency. 

Award Recipient: Jim West, Snohomish PUD
"West has a proven record of using resources more effectively to maximize benefits for the PUD’s customers. Under West’s leadership, the PUD has consistently exceeded energy efficiency goals. The utility achieved its two highest energy efficiency levels ever in 2013 and 2014, exceeding 22 aMWs of savings in the two-year period – or enough to power more than 16,000 homes. ...West has proven himself as an innovator at the PUD, serving as a model for energy efficiency for utilities throughout the region. ...West has cultivated an environment in which employees are empowered and, in turn, customers are better served."

The Leadership in Energy Efficiency Award for Lifetime Achievement
Recognizes outstanding achievement of an individual whose career has greatly contributed to energy efficiency in the Northwest.

Award Recipient: Tom Eckman, Northwest Power and Conservation Council
"Today, if someone needs a fact or figure about EE, he or she calls Tom Eckman. If anybody needs a speaker to trumpet and demonstrate the value of EE, he or she calls Tom Eckman. If anyone knows how a particular trend in the affects an emerging technology in EE, he or she calls Tom Eckman. Tom is the most valuable EE resource in the region, probably even the country and the world. He has the technical background, he has a unique ability to translate dense concept into understandable information with just the right touch of humor, and he enjoys the respect of all entities in the region, which almost nobody else can claim.Tom is retiring after adoption of the 7th Power Plan in January or February, and now is the time for recognition of Tom for his lifetime achievement, much to the huge benefit of everyone who lives in the Northwest."

Award recipients will be recognized during the NEEA Board Annual Meeting on December 3rd in Portland, OR. 

Thanks to all our nominees. It is an honor to be chosen by your colleagues for this recognition. On behalf of NEEA and the region, we thank you for being a leader in energy efficiency!

Leadership in Energy Efficiency Award for Innovation Nominees:

Rich Arneson and Bruce Carter, Tacoma Power (winners)
Carrie Cobb 
Sarah Moscatello
Flathead Electric Cooperative's Energy Fix Loan Program
Macdonald-Miller’s Leatherman Tool Project
Smart Utility Systems

Leadership in Energy Efficiency Award for Collaboration Nominees:
Steve Bicker, Tacoma Power Fred Gordon, Energy Trust of Oregon
Jack Callahan, BPA
Kim Crossman, Energy Trust of Oregon
Stephanie Gowing, City of Seattle
Heat Pump Water Heater Work Group
Ross Holter, Flathead Electric
Dennis Rominger, Puget Sound Energy
Danielle Walker, BPA
Brad Weaver, Northwest Energy Consulting
Jim West, Snohomish PUD (winner)
Deb Young, NorthWestern Energy

Leadership in Energy Efficiency Lifetime Achievement Award Nominees:
David Baylon, Ecotope
Greg Delwiche, BPA
Tom Eckman, Northwest Power and Conservation Council (winner)
Steve Eldridge, Umatilla Electric Co-op
Perry England, Macdonald-Miller
Margie Harris, Energy Trust of Oregon
Gary Johnson, Tacoma Power
Michael Lane, Puget Sound Energy 
Dick Stroh, BPA
Phil Welker, CLEAResult
Log in to comment, rate, and share.
Comments (1)
Janice Boman on 10/29/15 on 07:05 AM (Pacific Time)

Congratulations to Rich, Bruce, Jim and Tom and to all the nominees for their dedication and passion to energy efficiency in the Northwest!

This resource is Public

Sector: Non-Sector Specific
Function: Non-Function Specific

Associated Communities:

Add to My Communities